South African National Science Week

From 02-08, Aug. 2014, MathAfrica participated at the 2014 National Science Week (NSW) events, launch held in Bloemfontein (University of Free State), Gauteng (University of Johannesburg – Soweto Science Centre), North West province (Khayakulu Village), Limpopo Province (Mukula Secondary & Miriyavhavha Technical High School).

NSW is an initiative of the Department of Science and Technology (DST) that is celebrated annually across South Africa. It involves various stakeholders and role players who conduct fun science-based activities during the week. The South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement (SAASTA) has been appointed by DST as the implementing agency and has the role of national project manager for NSW. NSW is run in all nine provinces simultaneously at multiple sites per province. The theme of NSW 2014 is “Today’s science, tomorrow’s world”, with “International Year of Crystallography” as sub-theme.

02 August 2014 –  Bloemfontein (University of Free State)
04 August 2014 –  Gauteng(UJ – Soweto Science Centre)

05-06 August 2014 –  North West(Khayakulu Village)

 07 August 2014 – Limpopo Province (Mukula Secondary School)

 08 August 2014 –  Limpopo Province ( Miriyavhavha Technical High School)